Day 333, November 5th 2016 – Curry Night Part II

Bengali-style Fish Curry

This is a simple fish curry that I invented to go a,onside the beef curry I posted previously. It is a Bengali-style curry – the Bengali region is famous for fish curries, and use of whole spices like cumin seeds, and fresh ginger. They don’t use garlic much, but I have in this recipe, and they often use coconut, but of course we can’t do that due to our crazy allergies. Still, it was yummo.

Ingredients

Green parts of three Spring onions, finely chopped – free

Stems and roots of a bunch of coriander, very well washed and finely chopped – 50 cents

A large pice of fresh ginger, peeled and grated – 50 cents

1 clove garlic, minced – free*

1 can diced tomatoes – $1

1/2 teaspoon chilli powder – 2.5 cents

1 teaspoon cumin seeds – 5 cents

1/2 teaspoon turmeric – 2.5 cents

1 teaspoon ground coriander – 5 cents

1 teaspoon garam masala – 5 cents

8 cardamom pods – 5 cents

2 bay leaves – free

1 teaspoon salt – 1 cent

1 cup water

1 tablespoon rice bran oil – 6 cents

500 grams frozen white fish fillets, thawed overnight in the fridge, and cut into large chunks – $5**

In a deep, heavy-based frying pan, heat the rice bran oil and cook the onions, coriander roots and stems, ginger and garlic for a couple of minutes, taking care not to burn.

Add the whole spices and wait a few seconds of the cumin seeds to crackle before adding the other spices. Cook for two minutes.

Pour in the tomatoes and water, and cook for ten minutes until the sauce is thick.  

Carefully place the pieces of fish in the sauce, and reduce the heat. Cook for 5-10 minutes, until the fish is cooked through. Take care not to stir the curry, as the fish will break up – just give the pan a gentle shake now and then. 

Serve hot with rice and a dollop of natural yoghurt.

Total cost: $7.32

Per person (serves 4): $1.83
*Excitement plus – I successfully grew my own garlic this year, and my neighbour also gave me some of his, so I am currently using homegrown organic garlic. I have never successfully grown it so every time I whack a clove with the flat of my chef’s knife I feel unspeakable pride. Just saying.

**I used New Zealand Hoki fillets, but you could use any thick white fish fillets. I try to buy fish that is a) sustainably fished (this had a label on it that said it was and I guess I have to believe them) and b) that is as local as possible. I don’t buy fish often because I don’t really trust how it is fished. Also, my Father in Law is a recreational fisherman and I know he does follow all the rules. He brings us fresh fish occasionally, so I tend to wait and enjoy some really fresh fish when that happens.

Leave a Reply

