Day 341, December 6th 2016

Ok, I admit it. I have completely messed up the numbers of my 365 days. When I have a spare moment I will go back and fix it – but for now, suffice to say – my bad. This is the correct number though.

Anyways, on this day I made a big batch of vegetarian and non-vegetarian chilli so we could have Mexican food galore. To change things up a bit, I decided to make a turkey chilli for we omnivores, and a ‘black and white’ chilli for our little vego, using black beans and black-eyed beans.

Turkey, sage and kale chilli

2 tablespoons rice bran oil – 6 cents

1 clove garlic, minced* – free

1 red onion, finely chopped – free

1 stick celery, peeled and finely sliced** – 15 cents

1 carrot, finely chopped – 10 cents

3 slices short cut bacon (about 100 grams) – $1

500 grams turkey mince – $5

1 can black-eyed beans, drained and rinsed – $1

1 can diced tomatoes – $1

2 teaspoons ground coriander – 10 cents

6 leaves sage, roughly shredded – free

1 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves – free

3/4 teaspoon paprika – 5 cents

3/4 teaspoon chilli powder – 5 cents

1/2 bunch kale, washed and shredded – free***

6 cups chicken stock – free

Heat the rice bran oil in a large stock pot. Gently sauté the onion, carrot, celery, sage, thyme, and garlic for ten minutes. Add the bacon and cook for five minutes, then add the turkey and cook for ten minutes, breaking it up with a spoon as it cooks.

Sprinkle with the coriander, chilli and paprika. Stir well and cook for another two minutes.

Add the black-eyed beans and the tomatoes and stir well. The pour in the stock.

Stir well and bring to the boil, and then reduce the heat and simmer until the chilli is reduced. Season with salt and serve with rice for a burrito bowl, tortillas for burritos or quesadillas, or in tacos.

We served it on tacos with guacamole and hot sauce. Om nom norms.

Total cost: $8.51

Per person (serves 12): 70 cents.

We froze this in meal-sized lots and we still have some in the freezer. This is one of those ‘meat less’ meals that stretches a small amount of meat a long long way. The addition of many kinds of vegetables makes it a healthy choice, although the inordinate dollop of sour cream on top probably negates that a little!

Tomorrow: the vegetarian chilli recipe.

*I mince my garlic by hand. Just whack the full clove with the flat of a chef’s knife and the peel will slip right off, and then chop it up. It’s the easiest method for me, but you can use a proper garlic crusher if you like. I find them a pain to wash, so I don’t bother with them.

**I always peel celery. I just think it’s nicer.

***I’m growing kale in my garden. That stuff grows like a weed.

Leave a Reply

